(1 customer review)
@ Susan McGovern

Vanished by Susan McGovern

Vanished is a novel about an 18 year old girl from Dun Laoghaire who literally disappears in the middle of the night. It deals with the events leading up to her disappearance, how she disappears and what happens afterwards. There are many twists and turns and unexpected outcomes. As is usual for me, I wrote here about some areas of which I have some knowledge. The first part of the novel is set in 1975, when I was the same age as Lucinda, a time in my life of which I have very vivid memories. In addition my sisters father – in – law, disappeared when he was 77 and was never found and I observed the devastating effect this had on his family. What happened Lucinda? You will have to read the book to find out!

 This book is self published through The Write Space Books, an imprint of Publibook Ireland.

ISBN 978-1- 909774-19-3


Seller Bio

Sold by: Susan McGovern
Susan McGovern was born Susan Monahan in 1957 in Dublin, where she lived for the first 23 years of her life. She now lives in Dundalk with her husband, two cats and a dog. Susan worked as a Science teacher and later in Further Education for 35 years in Malahide, Achill and O'Fiaich College, Dundalk.  Susan has a wide range of interests, including travel, complementary medicine, walking, reading and playing the drums. She also greatly enjoys writing and often brings the dog for a walk to work out a plot-line.  Susan started writing in 2013 when she retired.  Her first book was a factual book called “Care and Prevention of Urinary problems in Cats”.  The title explains what it is about and Susan researched and wrote it in 2014 since one of her cats at the time had urinary problems.  The cat, Trig, still lives with Susan and her husband and has had no urinary problems since 2014.  The novel “Vanished” followed in 2015 and this is about an 18-year-old girl who vanishes into thin air one night.  It deals with what happens before, during and after the disappearance and how this affects her family and friends.  2017 saw the publication of “Thanks for the Memories”, a collection of short stories about people with Alzheimer’s and their families.  This is a very well informed and heartfelt book since both of Susan’s parents and many of her extended family had Alzheimer’s. The above three books were self published, but in November 2021 Susan’s first children’s book, “The She Team”, was published by Austin Macauley.  The main characters are four cats, a dog and two young boys.  The animals in “The She Team” are all current or past family pets and the boys are Susan’s grandsons.  The sequel to this book, called “The She Team Does Lockdown” will be released by Austin Macauley later in the year.

Reviews (1)

1 review for Vanished (FREE SHIPPING)

5.0 out of 5
Write a review
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating
  1. Gloria McBreen

    Vanished is quite a page turner! Plenty of surprises throughout with a few tear-jerking moments. I found it a very enjoyable read and with only a few characters, it was easy to follow. I think many readers will relate to this story for several different reasons. I didn’t predict in my mind how it would end…. but let’s just say, I wasn’t disappointed. I’d love a sequel to this novel, starring one of the characters, Yvettte, who I found to be an interesting woman.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this

    Add a review

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Vanished (FREE SHIPPING)
    Vanished (FREE SHIPPING)

    Shopping cart